Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 125

Thread: ***Official*** Bangladesh in Sri Lanka, 2013

  1. #1
    State Vice-Captain cricman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Other Side of the Atlantic
    Posts
    1,253

    ***Official*** Bangladesh in Sri Lanka, 2013

    Didn't see one made for this, never made one of these and combined with the lack of interest in this series decided to make this.

    Hopefully, it'll bring some luck to Bangladesh. We always get pasted in Sri Lanka. This is this first time We're going to play a Test against w/o Murali and Mahela. No Shakib, it's going to be very difficult to replace the runs and the wickets but the debutantes will get there chance.

    Will see how Sohag Gazi does against a Sub-Continental side but this might be the 1st time he will play on a sporting pitch so he should get alot of assistance.

    Sri Lanka also picked 6 uncapped players, so it will be interesting how Mathews deals with that, first time being Captain.

    Sun Mar 3 - Tue Mar 5
    04:30 GMT | 10:00 local
    23:30 EST -1d | 22:30 CST -1d | 20:30 PST -1d Sri Lanka Development Emerging Team v Bangladeshis
    Uyanwatte Stadium, Matara

    Fri Mar 8 - Tue Mar 12
    04:30 GMT | 10:00 local
    23:30 EST -1d | 22:30 CST -1d | 20:30 PST -1d 1st Test - Sri Lanka v Bangladesh
    Galle International Stadium

    Sat Mar 16 - Wed Mar 20
    04:30 GMT | 10:00 local
    00:30 EDT | 22:30 CST -1d | 21:30 PDT -1d 2nd Test - Sri Lanka v Bangladesh
    R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

    Sat Mar 23
    09:00 GMT | 14:30 local
    05:00 EDT | 03:00 CST | 02:00 PDT 1st ODI - Sri Lanka v Bangladesh
    Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, Sooriyawewa, Hambantota

    Mon Mar 25
    09:00 GMT | 14:30 local
    05:00 EDT | 03:00 CST | 02:00 PDT 2nd ODI - Sri Lanka v Bangladesh
    Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, Sooriyawewa, Hambantota

    Thu Mar 28
    09:00 GMT | 14:30 local
    05:00 EDT | 03:00 CST | 02:00 PDT 3rd ODI - Sri Lanka v Bangladesh
    Pallekele International Cricket Stadium

    Sun Mar 31
    13:30 GMT | 19:00 local
    09:30 EDT | 07:30 CST | 06:30 PDT Only T20I - Sri Lanka v Bangladesh
    Pallekele International Cricket Stadium

    Test squad: Angelo Mathews (capt), Dinesh Chandimal (vice-capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dimuth Karunaratne, Ashen Silva, Kumar Sangakkara, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kushal Janith Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Kithuruwan Vithanage, Ajantha Mendis, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, Shaminda Eranga, Chanaka Welegedera, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Rangana Herath, Tharindu Kaushal, Thilan Samaraweera

    Mushfiqur Rahim (capt), Mahmudullah (vice-capt), Tamim Iqbal, Shahriar Nafees, Anamul Haque, Naeem Islam, Nasir Hossain, Sohag Gazi, Abul Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Enamul Haque, Jahurul Islam, Mominul Haque, Shahadat Hossain, Robiul Islam.

    That List for Bangladesh is inaccurate since everybody is getting injured, No Naeem, Enamul Jr and Shahriar Nafees. They were replaced by Marshall Ayub, Elias Sunny and the one and only Mohammad Ashraful.

  2. #2
    Hall of Fame Member Howe_zat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Top floor, bottom buzzer
    Posts
    16,489
    What's with 20 Sri Lankans being picked? Is that an actual training squad?
    'It seems that perfection is attained, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing more to take away.'

  3. #3
    Eyes not spreadsheets marc71178's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    57,792
    marc71178 - President and founding member of AAAS - we don't only appreciate when he does well, but also when he's not quite so good!

    Anyone want to join the Society?

    Beware the evils of Kit-Kats - they're immoral apparently.

  4. #4
    State Vice-Captain cricman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Other Side of the Atlantic
    Posts
    1,253
    1st Test about to start in a few minutes

    Edit: No Tamim Bullocks
    Last edited by cricman; 07-03-2013 at 09:12 PM.


  5. #5
    You'll Never Walk Alone Nate's Avatar
    Bowling tgfg Champion! Carmageddon Champion! Rainman Champion! DTunnel Champion!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New South Wales
    Posts
    27,081
    Shads bringing the heat!
    Jesus saves

    member of Liverpool FC and Melbourne City

  6. #6
    Global Moderator Prince EWS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Moving to Somalia
    Posts
    43,747
    What the **** is with the Bangladesh lineup for this Test?

    How many blokes are injured? It seriously looks like a massive step back. Abul? Mominul? Ashraful?!? Really?
    ~ Cribbertarian ~

    Rejecting 'analysis by checklist' and 'skill absolutism' since December 2009

  7. #7
    School Boy/Girl Captain Challis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    187
    Shakib, Tamim, Nafees, Naeem Islam, Rubel Hossain, Enamul Haque Jr, are all injured and would have most likely have been in the team playing now

  8. #8
    School Boy/Girl Captain Challis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    187
    It was a horrendous decision from the selectors to choose 4 pacers and only two spinners in the squad. And the pacers they decide to select are the usual no hopers: Rubel, Shahadat, Abul and Robiul Islam.
    Nazmul Hossain just continually gets ignored even though he's one of the very few BD bowlers who can get some movement with the new ball, even if it is at a pedestrian pace his control is good enough to trouble the batsmen and he won't leak runs.
    Taskin Ahmed who seems to be a genuine Test class prospect; has a bit of pace, can get sideways movement, decent control and most importantly is a "thinking bowler" who actually thinks about how he is going to trouble the batsmen. Somehow Abul keeps getting into the team whilst Taskin, who I would bet has the potential to be the best BD pacer ever (not too difficult but still) and actually be the first Test class pacer from Bangladesh isn't even on the radar of the selectors.
    Shafiul also doesn't seem to be getting any chances whilst others keep failing and still keep getting picked.

  9. #9
    International Coach Hurricane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Don't be jealous of the Georgie Pie super smash
    Posts
    10,060
    Quote Originally Posted by Challis View Post
    It was a horrendous decision from the selectors to choose 4 pacers and only two spinners in the squad. And the pacers they decide to select are the usual no hopers: Rubel, Shahadat, Abul and Robiul Islam.
    Nazmul Hossain just continually gets ignored even though he's one of the very few BD bowlers who can get some movement with the new ball, even if it is at a pedestrian pace his control is good enough to trouble the batsmen and he won't leak runs.
    Taskin Ahmed who seems to be a genuine Test class prospect; has a bit of pace, can get sideways movement, decent control and most importantly is a "thinking bowler" who actually thinks about how he is going to trouble the batsmen. Somehow Abul keeps getting into the team whilst Taskin, who I would bet has the potential to be the best BD pacer ever (not too difficult but still) and actually be the first Test class pacer from Bangladesh isn't even on the radar of the selectors.
    Shafiul also doesn't seem to be getting any chances whilst others keep failing and still keep getting picked.
    He's only played 10 FC matches. Maybe after next season he will be selected. Pretty young too.
    Quote Originally Posted by HeathDavisSpeed View Post
    I got great enjoyment in going to the game and shouting "WHY THE **** ISN'T THIS GAME BEING PLAYED AT THE BASIN?!>!?!?" to reasonably significant cheers from the sparse crowd
    Proudly against the bring back Bennett movement since he is injury prone and won't last 5 days.

  10. #10
    School Boy/Girl Captain Challis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    187
    I know he's very inexperienced but my point was to compare him with Abul who has played the same amount of first class games, and keeps bowling garbage and keeps getting picked.

  11. #11
    International 12th Man AndyZaltzHair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,707
    So the selectors expect Abul to make a century every test or else can't justify his inclusion in the team honestly. He bowls only one decent delivery every 5 overs or so
    Originally Spoken by Brendon McCullum
    You have got to earn the right to be aggressive.

  12. #12
    Global Moderator Prince EWS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Moving to Somalia
    Posts
    43,747
    Ashraful has bowled four overs; Mahmudullah has bowled two.

    Cool story Mushfiqur.

  13. #13
    International Coach
    Suicide Bob Champion!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Not really needed on CW
    Posts
    12,754
    Gazi > Lyon

  14. #14
    State 12th Man Flametree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    730
    God that's a depressingly predictable scorecard. SL win toss, 300-odd for 3 at stumps. Openers fail to cash in, Sanga gets a ton.... nothing to see here, move along.

  15. #15
    State 12th Man Flametree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    730
    And I now see the Bangers have dropped a few catches. Even more depressing. Shahadat may be the worst fast bowler around at present, but he is also the unluckiest I think. His average might even be in the mid-40s if his fielders could take simple skiers...

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ICC 2005 Super Challenge
    By Noble One in forum General
    Replies: 81
    Last Post: 07-06-2011, 10:34 PM
  2. *Official* Zimbabwe in Bangladesh 2010
    By laksh_01 in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 186
    Last Post: 13-12-2010, 12:38 PM
  3. Somerset's ICC 2009 NZ Story
    By Somerset in forum General
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 27-12-2009, 06:32 PM
  4. *** Official*** Bangladesh in 2010
    By cricman in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-12-2009, 02:51 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •