Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Your biggest CW epiphany

Your most cherished CW epiphany

So, even though I am relatively quite new to the CW forum, I can claim to have had some minor epiphanies, i.e. both long-held-myths-busting and completely-refreshing-out-of-the-blue-insight moments. Ones that I cherish are of analysing Gavaskar's performances against the mighty WI pace battery, tales about Stan McCabe's brilliance, deconstructing Sydney Barnes' bowling style and temperament, discovering the brilliance of Monty Noble, Charlie Macartney and the like. There are quite a few more.

It would be great to hear from other forum members about their personal cherished epiphanies, and more
    Last edited by harsh.ag; 08-02-2013 at 02:14 AM.
    If you were that old, and that kind, and the very last of your kind, you couldn't just stand back and watch children cry.

Cricketer Of The Year Hurricane's Avatar
    Not an epiphany but just a small realisation for me was that in a test team you just pick your four best bowlers in the country and if it is a close call between two bowlers for the 4th spot you still take the best bowler of the two even if the other is a better bat.

This logic was used time and again on CW to justify Patel's selection ahead of other spinners in the country who had similar FC bowling averages and were better bats. Eventually I came around.
    Quote Originally Posted by HeathDavisSpeed View Post
    I got great enjoyment in going to the game and shouting "WHY THE **** ISN'T THIS GAME BEING PLAYED AT THE BASIN?!>!?!?" to reasonably significant cheers from the sparse crowd
    Proudly against the bring back Bennett movement since he is injury prone and won't last 5 days.

Cricket Web Staff Member Burgey's Avatar
    My CW epiphany came on January 6 2008 when I was given cause to hate India more than England.
    WWCC - Loyaulte Mi Lie
    "People make me happy.. not places.. people"