Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cricket Book Help?

Cricket Spectator

Icon3 Cricket Book Help?

Hi all,

I'm a writer and have been asked to look into writing a book about cricket for a publisher I work for. I need to come up with some new interesting 'different' angles on cricket / a fresh approach and thought this might be a good place to ask about it. Are there any books about cricket that you would like to get hold of but have never seen / are not available? Any help would be very gratefully received!

Thanks so much. Kate

Cricket Web Staff Member fredfertang's Avatar
    It is a far far better place ............ etc etc
    If you want to sell enough copies to keep your employer happy then I'd suggest that you need to ghost an autobiography for a big name current player - on the other hand you could write a good book, but that probably wouldn't be a commercially viable proposition

Locked up inside my opium den, surrounded by some Chinamen
    It's an interesting question. I'm sure our book review team have a broader knowledge of the extant books on cricket, but one field I've always been interested in is first-class cricketers who've excelled in other fields.

There can't be too many other sports that those who've played at first class level include a noble laureate, a British Prime Minister & the only man to score a hat-trick in the FIFA world cup.
    Cricket Web's 2013/14 Premier League Tipping Champion

- As featured in The Independent.

"as much a news event as an actual footballer, a worthy stop-start centre forward, but an all-time hyper-galactico when it comes to doing funny things with cars and hats, a player whose signing proves once again that the Premier League is still undoubtedly the best in the world when it comes to doing things with cars and hats."
    - Barney Ronay on Mario Balotelli

Cricket Spectator
    Brilliant, thanks...

Hi Kate.