Cricket Player Manager

View Poll Results: Mentally more difficult - batting or bowling?

Voters
15. You may not vote on this poll
  • Batting

15 100.00%
  • Bowling

0 0%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which is mentally more difficult at the top level - batting or bowling?

Which is mentally more difficult at the top level - batting or bowling?

I was a psychologist in my former career, and it has always fascinated me to watch the mental battles that players go through, especially in tests. I have often wondered (not being a world-class allrounder myself) which is mentally tougher at the test level out of batting or bowling.

In some ways I think batting, because if you make one mistake you're gone. This is even worse for openers because the ball does more.

In other ways I think bowling, because with batting you have 10 other guys that can pick up the slack if you fail, unlike bowling where you're part of a pack of 4 or 5 guys.

Request Your Custom Title Now! Flem274*'s Avatar
    Would you like an apple or an orange?
    Quote Originally Posted by Athlai View Post
    Jeets doesn't really deserve to be bowling.
    Well yeah Tendy is probably better than Bradman, but Bradman was 70 years ago, if he grew up in the modern era he'd still easily be the best. Though he wasn't, can understand the argument for Tendy even though I don't agree.
    Proudly supporting Central Districts
    RIP Craig Walsh

Cricket Web: All-Time Legend Uppercut's Avatar
    Tournaments Won: 1
    I know the textbook answer is that they're incomparable.

But I do think that psychological factors make up a greater proportion of a batsman's quality than a bowler's. Concentration is more of a key skill, pressure situations are more common (speaking solely for tests) and the short-term fluctuations are pretty insane. Whether you miss or nick a good one early on in an important innings can define your entire career.
    Quote Originally Posted by zaremba View Post