• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Which is mentally more difficult at the top level - batting or bowling?

Mentally more difficult - batting or bowling?

• Total voters

kiwiviktor81

International Debutant
I was a psychologist in my former career, and it has always fascinated me to watch the mental battles that players go through, especially in tests. I have often wondered (not being a world-class allrounder myself) which is mentally tougher at the test level out of batting or bowling.

In some ways I think batting, because if you make one mistake you're gone. This is even worse for openers because the ball does more.

In other ways I think bowling, because with batting you have 10 other guys that can pick up the slack if you fail, unlike bowling where you're part of a pack of 4 or 5 guys.

Uppercut

Request Your Custom Title Now!
I know the textbook answer is that they're incomparable.

But I do think that psychological factors make up a greater proportion of a batsman's quality than a bowler's. Concentration is more of a key skill, pressure situations are more common (speaking solely for tests) and the short-term fluctuations are pretty insane. Whether you miss or nick a good one early on in an important innings can define your entire career.

Himannv

International Coach
I would say a bowler would find it more difficult in shorter formats while the batsman would find it harder in longer formats.

sledger

Spanish_Vicente