bit of everything
Last edited by uvelocity; 06-04-2013 at 11:58 PM.
Invoked Law 27.7 for the first time in my umpiring career yesterday.
MSN Messenger: minardineil2000 at hotmail dot com | AAAS Chairman
CricketWeb Black | CricketWeb XI Captain
ClarkeWatch: We're Watching Rikki - Are You?
Up The Grecians - Exeter City FC
Completing the Square: My Cricket Web Blog
Do go on...
Appreciate Swanneh For The Genius He Is.
Bore off, seriously.
27.7. Batsman leaving his wicket under a misapprehension
An umpire shall intervene if satisfied that a batsman, not having been given out, has left his wicket under a misapprehension that he is out. The umpire intervening shall call and signal Dead ball to prevent any further action by the fielding side and shall recall the batsman.
Kid skewed it to cover (I was standing at point - LHB and couldn't be bothered to swap sides); fielder looked like he caught it diving forwards, team mates celebrate, batsman started walking off towards pavilion. Turned out fielder hadn't caught it, and it basically rolled down his front and out through his legs, dropping onto the floor behind him. Knowing this rule, I called "dead ball" before any arguments about run-outs could happen.
Sunningwell 212-5 (Pickup 69)
It's only taken me 27 years. Six or seven fours, I think, plus a bizarre baseball shot of a flat-batted six over long on. It still proved to be hugely insufficient, as the opposition (who've switched from D7 of the much stronger Cherwell league to D10 of the OCA, got it with nine overs to spare.
Now I no longer have to endure the frustration of watching the U11s I coach get maiden fifties before me.
50 up well done
Played last man standing in someone's team. We sucked. Bit of a laugh
rained off for the day. got the one sunny day of the year outta the way the previous week. roll on the good times!
Dorchester II 79 all out; Sunningwell II 80-5 (36 overs)
Turgid doesn't even begin to cover it. Five of the 15 wickets were caught and bowled: you couldn't play anything with any degree of confidence. I made 18 off 24 overs before becoming the fifth of the aforementioned c&b victims, four balls from seeing off the openers and being able to cash in on first change buffet and a red-inker. Still, win's a win and we're not bottom.
Sunningwell II 183/6 (Pickup 100*)
Kilkenny II 103
At some stage this is actually going to sink in.
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)