• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

What is more difficult: Remembering to breath or remembering to leave?

Son Of Coco

Cricket Web: All-Time Legend
Personally, I find remembering to leave a lot more difficult. As a tail-ender (albeit an extremely skillful one) when I'm new to the crease I find myself wanting to get bat on ball more frequently than Elton John.

It's a bit like being at a nightclub at 3am when the ugly lights come on and you find what would've been an obvious leave at 11pm now naked in your room and threatening to ricochet off the edges of your bat.

Despite my ridiculous metaphors, I would actually like a serious answer to this question. The art of the leave is an important one in cricket and, when done well, can frustrate the hell out of the bowler (see NZ vs McGrath a few years back).

If you're a batsman, how do you hone your skills in this area?

Those of you that find remembering to breath difficult, please explain further.

(Apologies if this is in the wrong place, but I perhaps foolishly thought the answers following might address the 'remembering to leave' part more than the breathing. I also thought borrowing a popular thread title might get me more than 10 replies, thus breaking a personal record.)

Last edited:

Jarquis