Cricket Player Manager
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Cricket Scenario

  1. #1
    International Regular NasserFan207's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    3,886

    Cricket Scenario

    Batsman go through for a quick single.

    Fielder hits the stumps with the batsman well in their ground, and they go for an overthrow. The bowler (or wicketkeeper) then yank out a stump from the side where the fielder hit with his throw before the batsman can cross.

    Is that out?

  2. #2
    Global Moderator Spark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    A Blood Rainbow
    Posts
    33,585
    Quote Originally Posted by Irish_Opener View Post
    Batsman go through for a quick single.

    Fielder hits the stumps with the batsman well in their ground, and they go for an overthrow. The bowler (or wicketkeeper) then yank out a stump from the side where the fielder hit with his throw before the batsman can cross.

    Is that out?
    Don't think so unless the guy had ball in hand when ripping it out.
    + time's fickle card game ~ with you and i +


    forever 63*

  3. #3
    Hall of Fame Member Marcuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Above you
    Posts
    15,746
    Has to have the ball in his hand doesn't he?

  4. #4
    99*
    99* is offline
    International Debutant 99*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    2,594
    Yeah, as Spark said, it's out only if the person that removes the stump from the ground is holding the ball (and I also believe they must have that hand touching the stump as well.)
    Quote Originally Posted by Burgey
    She tells me the thing will flatten out, I say "Like your chest?" Bad mistake.


  5. #5
    International Regular NasserFan207's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    3,886
    Ah that makes sense. Cheers fellas.

  6. #6
    International 12th Man
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,613
    What happens if a batsman takes off for a quick single and half way through he realises that his going to get run-out and throws either one of his gloves or his bat at the stumps (at the end that he is running to) and the bat or the gloves breaks the stumps before the ball makes contact with the stumps? Is he given out?

    Also, what happens if the batsman knocks the bails off of the stumps and then goes for another run?

  7. #7
    Global Moderator Spark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    A Blood Rainbow
    Posts
    33,585
    Quote Originally Posted by wfdu_ben91 View Post
    What happens if a batsman takes off for a quick single and half way through he realises that his going to get run-out and throws either one of his gloves or his bat at the stumps (at the end that he is running to) and the bat or the gloves breaks the stumps before the ball makes contact with the stumps? Is he given out?

    Also, what happens if the batsman knocks the bails off of the stumps and then goes for another run?
    That's an interesting scenario. Depending on the case and what-not could be a case for an obstructing the field appeal perhaps.

  8. #8
    Cricket Web: All-Time Legend andyc's Avatar
    Yeti Sports 1.5 Champion!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    23,864
    Yeah, I imagine the umpire wouldn't be too pleased about it and would probably just give them out obstructing the field.
    Quote Originally Posted by flibbertyjibber View Post
    Only a bunch of convicts having been beaten 3-0 and gone 9 tests without a win and won just 1 in 11 against England could go into the home series saying they will win. England will win in Australia again this winter as they are a better side which they have shown this summer. 3-0 doesn't lie girls.

  9. #9
    International 12th Man
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,613
    Aw ****

  10. #10
    Cricket Web Staff Member / Global Moderator Neil Pickup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Oxford, England
    Posts
    26,876
    Intentionally, definitely out obstructing the field. Accidentally, probably dead ball.

    I've seen it happen once when the batsman tripped over in the last yard of his single and facepalmed the stumps. Was laughing too much to make any kind of decision, tbh.
    MSN Messenger: minardineil2000 at hotmail dot com | AAAS Chairman
    CricketWeb Black | CricketWeb XI Captain
    ClarkeWatch: We're Watching Rikki - Are You?

    Up The Grecians - Exeter City FC

    Completing the Square: My Cricket Web Blog

  11. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    991
    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Pickup View Post
    Intentionally, definitely out obstructing the field. Accidentally, probably dead ball.

    I've seen it happen once when the batsman tripped over in the last yard of his single and facepalmed the stumps. Was laughing too much to make any kind of decision, tbh.

    No decision to make, if he facepalmed the stumps then he had made his ground.

  12. #12
    International Captain
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    england
    Posts
    5,846
    Quote Originally Posted by Streetwise View Post
    No decision to make, if he facepalmed the stumps then he had made his ground.
    Not necessarily if his entire body, including his bat, was off the ground.



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Well it's not time to go, and first...
    By Richard in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 439
    Last Post: 09-06-2014, 01:12 AM
  2. The man who revolutionised cricket
    By C_C in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 16-06-2011, 12:23 AM
  3. The CW50 - No.30-21
    By The Sean in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: 12-12-2009, 04:54 AM
  4. CW Players A-Z
    By Mr Mxyzptlk in forum CW Development League
    Replies: 316
    Last Post: 10-05-2007, 12:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •