Cricket Betting Site Betway
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Interesting hypothetical rule question...

U19 Vice-Captain

Interesting hypothetical rule question...

I was discussing this with my friend earlier, we are not exactly sure what would happen.

Suppose the scores are level so the batting side needs 1 run to win. They have lost 9 wickets, so if the fielding side takes one more wicket the match will be a tie.

The bowler bowls a wide, but the batsman is stumped off it.

What would happen? Would it be a tie or would the batting side win?

I believe that the batting side would win; despite losing their last wicket, they also recieved the winning run. I think the match would be recorded as '*batting team* won by 0 wickets".

Anybody know the correct ruling in the situation? Or am I forgetting something simple?

Money Money Money Champion! Tournaments Won: 7
    I'm no expert with regards to umpiring and scoring in those situations but would take a guess that the wide would be recorded before the stumping, indicating game over and a win to the batting side by 1 wicket. Although would also be interested to hear if anyone with a full understanding of the laws could explain either way.

How about under the same situation with one run to win and one wicket in hand, if the bowler bowls a wide but the batsman hits his own wickets, either before or after the wide is signalled - what would happen in that case? Must be a pretty uncoordinated batsman to do so, admittedly, but just raising the point.

Request Your Custom Title Now! Burgey's Avatar
    Re. the original post: Not sure, but I'd think the batting side would win by 1 wicket, as chronolgically they scored the run before the wicket was taken, so therefore the wicket wouldn't be registered.

Cracking question though.
    WWCC - Loyaulte Mi Lie

“The modern conservative is engaged in one of man’s oldest exercises in moral philosophy; that is, the search for a superior moral justification for selfishness."