• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

County Youth Cricket: A Blueprint

Neil Pickup

Cricket Web Moderator
I know that there are plenty of members here who have been part of representative squads at any number of levels, and it's really you guys who I'm looking to aim the content of this thread at.

As of yesterday, I'm the manager of Oxfordshire County Under 10s. I've run club and district rep sides before, but this is my first time at the top level. What I want to take is ideas for what makes (and what doesn't make) a well-run County side, from match-day procedure, pre-season games, aims, paperwork, stat tracking, anything - on the field, or off.

I want to make this side work as well as it possibly can, and I'm sure that there are is a massive amount of experience out there that can help me make this happen.

Mr Mxyzptlk

Request Your Custom Title Now!
Under-10 is too young to be playing serious sport IMO. But that's another topic. Congratulations and good luck, Mr. Pickup.

Goughy

Hall of Fame Member
Under-10 is too young to be playing serious sport IMO. But that's another topic. Congratulations and good luck, Mr. Pickup.
Agree with all the sentiments.

During my time in South Africa, a school I was at stopped sending sending U10, U11 and U12 Provincial trialists. Collectively we decided that anything below U13 was too competetive and wasnt a fair reflection of how a child would progress at a later age.