Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What should Ishant work on?

School Boy/Girl Cricketer

What should Ishant work on?

Hello all,
    A newbie here. This is my first thread.

The cricketing world has seen a lot of tall bowlers whose stock delivery was the offcutter. None of them really swung the ball.

Here are some of them:

Ambrose, McGrath, Walsh, Harmison, Flintoff, Srinath

It seems that Ambrose had the complete package.

But a guy like Walsh who could only bowl the off cutter and bowled so wide of the crease was so much more successful than Harmison, Flintoff and Srinath. Why is that? On the other hand why was McGrath more successful than Walsh? He was neither as quick as Walsh nor did he have a great bouncer. The only difference seems to me that he could bowl close to the crease and also bowl the leg cutter.

And finally what does Ishant need to learn so that he ends up being more productive than Srinath, Flintoff and Harmison?

1. Be as accurate as Walsh, McGrath and Ambrose.
    2. Learn the leg cutter asap
    3. Bowl more closer to the stumps
    4. Bulk up and add more speed
    5. Be as fit as Walsh and bowl long spells.
    6. Develop a nasty bouncer.
    7. Bowl a lot on good length instead of short of good length.

Cricket Web: All-Time Legend Top_Cat's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bunny View Post
    But a guy like Walsh who could only bowl the off cutter and bowled so wide of the crease was so much more successful than Harmison, Flintoff and Srinath. Why is that? On the other hand why was McGrath more successful than Walsh? He was neither as quick as Walsh nor did he have a great bouncer. The only difference seems to me that he could bowl close to the crease and also bowl the leg cutter.