• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

What should Ishant work on?

bunny

School Boy/Girl Cricketer
Hello all,
A newbie here. This is my first thread.

The cricketing world has seen a lot of tall bowlers whose stock delivery was the offcutter. None of them really swung the ball.

Here are some of them:

Ambrose, McGrath, Walsh, Harmison, Flintoff, Srinath

It seems that Ambrose had the complete package.

But a guy like Walsh who could only bowl the off cutter and bowled so wide of the crease was so much more successful than Harmison, Flintoff and Srinath. Why is that? On the other hand why was McGrath more successful than Walsh? He was neither as quick as Walsh nor did he have a great bouncer. The only difference seems to me that he could bowl close to the crease and also bowl the leg cutter.

And finally what does Ishant need to learn so that he ends up being more productive than Srinath, Flintoff and Harmison?

1. Be as accurate as Walsh, McGrath and Ambrose.
2. Learn the leg cutter asap
3. Bowl more closer to the stumps
4. Bulk up and add more speed
5. Be as fit as Walsh and bowl long spells.
6. Develop a nasty bouncer.
7. Bowl a lot on good length instead of short of good length.

Top_Cat

Request Your Custom Title Now!