• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Best & Worst Declarations

BoyBrumby

Englishman
You know, I don't recall declarations ever having been discussed in any depth on CW in the 3 years+ I've been a resident. Seems remiss of us so this is my attempt to redress the balance.

Can you think of a good declaration that forced a positive result (for the team who declared) where one might not have been possible otherwise or alternately can you think of an absurdly generous closure that had the opposite outcome?

This would get my vote for the latter: http://uk.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/1960S/1967-68/ENG_IN_WI/ENG_WI_T4_14-19MAR1968.html

Which captains have handled them well and who's been too cautious?

All opinions welcome :) ('cept Richard's, obv... :p).

Richard

Cricket Web Staff Member
All opinions welcome :) ('cept Richard's, obv... :p).
8-)

;)

The Sobers one obviously surely has to be at or near the top, but another one I'd like to mention was Shaun Pollock's in Bridgetown in 2001 - CBA to link to the card as I'm in a rush, but he seemed to think there was absolutely no chance of getting a result, yet after he finally declared - 20 or 30 overs after he could have, with a massive first-innings lead - WI collapsed and almost lost even in the little time there was left (saved partly by some unsportsmanlike behaviour). Had he declared earlier and the same thing happened, it'd have been a certain victory.