• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Introducing cricket to a new country and audience

atisha_ro

U19 12th Man
I'm from Romania. Discovered cricket during the World Cup and got hooked on it - reading the news every day, watching as much as I can (even today the first two sessions of the Manchester Test)... and as a journalist I thought of getting this wonderful sport on screen here. We have some 5 sports stations - 3 FTA and 2 PPV - and there might be space for it.
Fact is, cricket is almost unknown here (football and handball being the top sports). We have a national bat-ball sport but it failed into oblivion. What would be the steps to make?
I'm keen of commentating the first TV broadcasts of cricket, since i got some knowledge and understanding of the game, but i have to ask what the best approach would be.
The event I consider better suited to kick off the cricketing market in Romania would be the Twenty20 World Championship - short matches, show enough, a good hook point to give a taste of the game to newcomers. And maybe next year the Ashes (sweet dreams).
Of course the first commentaries will have to be done in the studio.
How do you think we can make cricket an option, given that some here spoke about too much "globalisation" of the game"?
And what makes a good commentator in a virgin cricketing country, so to say?

Richard

Cricket Web Staff Member