Cricket Betting Site Betway
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 42

Thread: LBW Outside the line

  1. #1
    U19 Debutant
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    316

    LBW Outside the line

    Is there a reason that LBW's outside the line of off stump aren't given? Seems a bit of a mindless rule to me, I understand why balls pitched outside leg aren't out, but I don't get this one.

    LBW's are hard to get in any event, with everything horribly skewed towards the batsman, it just seems a bit unfair that the ball has to hit on the line of the stumps as well, which means that it the delivery is swinging like a demon or sharply turning, it's usually going to miss the stumps if it hits in line and then not out.

    The exception when not playing a shot is a tacit admission that it's a crap rule. It's also infuriating that umpires continue to play into the whole bat behind that pad non-shot that batsmen play way too often.

  2. #2
    International Captain Dravid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New Jersey, United States
    Posts
    5,096
    Uh, it's LBWs that are HIT outside the line of off stump. Not that land outside the line of stump. And it makes sense

  3. #3
    U19 Debutant
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    316
    Ja, I know it's hit outside the line, sorry.

    So why does it make sense? You can't just state that it does and then not say anything else.

  4. #4
    International Captain Dravid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New Jersey, United States
    Posts
    5,096
    Quote Originally Posted by nexxus View Post
    Ja, I know it's hit outside the line, sorry.

    So why does it make sense? You can't just state that it does and then not say anything else.
    Because most likely it will miss the stumps.


  5. #5
    Cricket Web Moderator Neil Pickup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Oxford, England
    Posts
    27,193
    Quote Originally Posted by Dravid View Post
    Because most likely it will miss the stumps.
    What? That's one of the most poorly constructed arguments of all time, ever, period. Inswing or off-spin bowling from over the wicket will hit a batsman outside the line and be going on to hit far more often than the same type of bowling if it hits in line, as it will be going down leg.
    MSN Messenger: minardineil2000 at hotmail dot com | AAAS Chairman
    CricketWeb Black | CricketWeb XI Captain
    ClarkeWatch: We're Watching Rikki - Are You?

    Up The Grecians - Exeter City FC

    Completing the Square: My Cricket Web Blog

  6. #6
    Request Your Custom Title Now! Mr Mxyzptlk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Trinidad and Tobago (Trinidad)
    Posts
    36,797
    Agreed. I'm starting to wonder just how much cricket Dravid has watched in his lifetime.
    Sreesanth said, "Next ball he was beaten and I said, 'is this the King Charles Lara? Who is this impostor, moving around nervously? I should have kept my mouth shut for the next ball - mind you, it was a length ball - Lara just pulled it over the church beyond the boundary! He is a true legend."

    The...er...Twitter[/SIZE][/CENTER]

  7. #7
    International Captain Dravid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New Jersey, United States
    Posts
    5,096
    I was being sarcastic. I should seriously start using smilies.

  8. #8
    International Coach PhoenixFire's Avatar
    Curveball Champion!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Bitch please, I'm from West Yorkshire
    Posts
    14,989
    Quote Originally Posted by Dravid View Post
    I was being sarcastic. I should seriously start using smilies.


    Was that meant to be sarcastic?
    Quote Originally Posted by Top_Cat View Post
    1) Had double pneumonia as a kid, as did my twin sis. Doctors told my parents to pray that we lived through the night. Dad said **** off, I'm an atheist, you ****s better save my kids, etc. Then prayed anyway.

  9. #9
    International Coach wpdavid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    12,637
    I'm with nexxus on this one - it's always seemed an odd rule to me. If nothing else, it would do away with batsmen planting their bats behind their pads to get away with the current ruling.

  10. #10
    You'll Never Walk Alone Nate's Avatar
    Bowling tgfg Champion! Rainman Champion! DTunnel Champion!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New South Wales
    Posts
    28,730
    Dravid - not fooling anyone. It`s alright to admit a blunder man, you`ll never make more than me anyway.

    I believe a ball hitting a batsman outside off-stump and hitting the stumps should be out LBW. But I`m for balls pitching outside leg-stump being ruled not-out.
    Jesus brings life eternal


  11. #11
    Cricketer Of The Year Turbinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    7,567
    Dravid man , that sounded so bait.

  12. #12
    International Coach adharcric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    10,898
    Did Dravid just get owned?

  13. #13
    International Coach PhoenixFire's Avatar
    Curveball Champion!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Bitch please, I'm from West Yorkshire
    Posts
    14,989
    Quote Originally Posted by adharcric View Post
    Did Dravid just get owned?
    Nah, it was more served or told.

  14. #14
    Hall of Fame Member Goughy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    still scratching around in the same old hole
    Posts
    15,676
    Quote Originally Posted by Dravid View Post
    Because most likely it will miss the stumps.
    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Pickup View Post
    What? That's one of the most poorly constructed arguments of all time, ever, period. Inswing or off-spin bowling from over the wicket will hit a batsman outside the line and be going on to hit far more often than the same type of bowling if it hits in line, as it will be going down leg.
    Neil, You dont have my self-control . I read that, counted to ten and then moved on. Didnt quite know how to answer
    If I only just posted the above post, please wait 5 mins before replying as there will be edits

    West Robham Rabid Wolves Caedere lemma quod eat lemma

  15. #15
    The Wheel is Forever silentstriker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    40,063
    Quote Originally Posted by Goughy View Post
    Neil, You dont have my self-control . I read that, counted to ten and then moved on. Didnt quite know how to answer
    Haha, same. It's rare when I see a post and I don't answer. That was one of them.
    Quote Originally Posted by KungFu_Kallis View Post
    Peter Siddle top scores in both innings....... Matthew Wade gets out twice in one ball
    "The future light cone of the next Indian fast bowler is exactly the same as the past light cone of the previous one"
    -My beliefs summarized in words much more eloquent than I could come up with

    How the Universe came from nothing

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. The Fine Line: Would You Walk?
    By adharcric in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 143
    Last Post: 01-11-2008, 10:44 AM
  2. Mahmood and Panesar power England to series glory
    By symonds_94 in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-08-2006, 11:11 AM
  3. The England batting line up
    By Pothas in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 198
    Last Post: 13-04-2006, 04:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •