Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Slightly confused....

  1. #1
    State 12th Man tadeusz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Warnbro WA
    Posts
    787

    Slightly confused....

    I'm following the Kenya v Bermuda ODI on cricinfo's live scores and noticed Bermuda received 6 wides from one delivery. How would this happen? The only way I can think of is if it a wide hit the helmet behind the keeper for 5 penalties plus 1 for the wide?
    What, me worry?
    Member of Colts - CW XI Dev League
    Cricket Web Cricket:
    First Class: 72 runs @ 9, 19 wickets @ 44.26
    One Day: 205 runs @ 22.78, 35 wickets @ 44.2
    T20: 27 runs @ 27, 10 wickets @ 28.2

  2. #2
    R_D
    R_D is offline
    International Debutant R_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,938
    Quote Originally Posted by tadeusz
    I'm following the Kenya v Bermuda ODI on cricinfo's live scores and noticed Bermuda received 6 wides from one delivery. How would this happen? The only way I can think of is if it a wide hit the helmet behind the keeper for 5 penalties plus 1 for the wide?
    more likely there's a typo from crickinfo commentary team.... they do that quite often.

  3. #3
    International Captain Dravid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New Jersey, United States
    Posts
    5,096
    A wide ball, keeper misses it, they run one. Who ever gets the ball overthrows it and it goes for 4.

  4. #4
    State 12th Man tadeusz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Warnbro WA
    Posts
    787
    That's probably more likely actually.


  5. #5
    R_D
    R_D is offline
    International Debutant R_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,938
    Quote Originally Posted by Dravid
    A wide ball, keeper misses it, they run one. Who ever gets the ball overthrows it and it goes for 4.
    but that wouldn't be 6 wides thou would it ?
    1 wide plus byes ?

    When there's a wide and you run thorugh.. its not considered 2 wides is it ... i thought it was 1 wide and a bye ?

  6. #6
    International Captain Dravid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New Jersey, United States
    Posts
    5,096
    As far as I know its considered 2 wides

  7. #7
    Hall of Fame Member FaaipDeOiad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    19,102
    Quote Originally Posted by R_D
    but that wouldn't be 6 wides thou would it ?
    1 wide plus byes ?

    When there's a wide and you run thorugh.. its not considered 2 wides is it ... i thought it was 1 wide and a bye ?
    Nah, it's considered two wides. Simple reason is that a "bye" is recorded as a keeper error. I believe it also doesn't count towards the bowlers figures, in the same way as a leg bye. ie: an over with nothing but a bye/leg bye is still considered a maiden.

    In the case of a wide, it's bowler error. If you bowl it 3 feet wide of leg stump and it goes for 4, it's five wides, not one wide and four byes. So presumably one wide and then another five all run or from a boundary overthrow or whatever would be six wides.

    There's one scoring issue I've wondered about for a while along a similar lines though. If you run a single, a fielder takes a throw at the stumps and it goes for a boundary it counts as five runs. Yet if you hit it to a fielder, take a single while it is on the way and then they either misfield it into the rope or even kick it there deliberately it only counts as 4. Why don't you get the extra run you ran beforehand, as well as the boundary? The only justification I can think of is that the fielder is "in control" of the ball prior to the throw that goes to the fence, but this could be true in the delibetate boundary to stop five runs or whatever, and play isn't dead anyway as the batsmen are still running.

    Bit of a ramble, but it never made any sense to me.
    I know a place where a royal flush
    Can never beat a pair

  8. #8
    International Captain Dravid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New Jersey, United States
    Posts
    5,096
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but in order for it to count as an overthrow doesn't it have to go on the other side of the field of the fielder. Example, if the ball is on the off side then it must go on the leg side for it to be considered overthrow. If you are above the keeper, it must go past the keeper to count as a overthrow. Thats what I always thought.

  9. #9
    R_D
    R_D is offline
    International Debutant R_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,938
    Quote Originally Posted by FaaipDeOiad

    There's one scoring issue I've wondered about for a while along a similar lines though. If you run a single, a fielder takes a throw at the stumps and it goes for a boundary it counts as five runs. Yet if you hit it to a fielder, take a single while it is on the way and then they either misfield it into the rope or even kick it there deliberately it only counts as 4. .
    Cheers.. i wasn't sure about that rule.

    has anyone actually done that ? I haven't seen it done in any International matches
    I've seen that happen in Movie thou . " Lagaan "

  10. #10
    Hall of Fame Member FaaipDeOiad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    19,102
    Quote Originally Posted by Dravid
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but in order for it to count as an overthrow doesn't it have to go on the other side of the field of the fielder. Example, if the ball is on the off side then it must go on the leg side for it to be considered overthrow. If you are above the keeper, it must go past the keeper to count as a overthrow. Thats what I always thought.
    That may very well be the case, but I've never read that particular rule.

  11. #11
    Hall of Fame Member FaaipDeOiad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    19,102
    Quote Originally Posted by R_D
    Cheers.. i wasn't sure about that rule.

    has anyone actually done that ? I haven't seen it done in any International matches
    I've seen that happen in Movie thou . " Lagaan "
    I'm fairly certain I remember it happening at the Adelaide Oval once when I was a kid. Adelaide has massive boundaries in certain places, and there were no ropes then of course, and it wasn't all that uncommon for a batsman to run four or sometimes even five in a test match when they hit it into an open area of the field but it didn't make the fence. I seem to remember a fielder "accidentally" knocking the ball into the fence to prevent a fifth run. Couldn't tell you who it was though.



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 389
    Last Post: 06-10-2013, 10:25 AM
  2. Im confused!
    By Prince EWS in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 09-11-2011, 10:43 PM
  3. Confused Leggy
    By Monty in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 28-01-2005, 07:06 PM
  4. Confused by title
    By PY in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 18-02-2003, 10:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •