Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Rule Clarification

  1. #1
    State Vice-Captain Armadillo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Literate Essex- yes, it does exist!
    Posts
    1,092

    Rule Clarification

    My question is this:
    If a right handed batsman plays a reverse sweep and the ball pitches outside the leg stump and it strikes the batsman in line with the stumps, should the batsman be viewed as a left hander and therefore be considered for lbw?
    Member of LSU (bowl part time pies)

    RIP Fardin

  2. #2
    Cricketer Of The Year Kweek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Haarlem, The Netherlands
    Posts
    7,723
    no.
    P.S. We beat England at Lord's
    Member of the RTDAS.
    Member of the ESAS - Edgar Schiferli Appreciation Society
    President of the DNAS - Dirk Nannes Appreciation Society
    Member of the CW Colts!

    Quote Originally Posted by Burgey View Post
    I think it's really disappointing of her - would only take a minute or two of her time....
    Quote Originally Posted by luffy View Post
    Wishful thinking on your behalf.

  3. #3
    Cricket Web Staff Member / Global Moderator Neil Pickup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Oxford, England
    Posts
    26,854
    No. It's stance at point of release of ball.
    MSN Messenger: minardineil2000 at hotmail dot com | AAAS Chairman
    CricketWeb Black | CricketWeb XI Captain
    ClarkeWatch: We're Watching Rikki - Are You?

    Up The Grecians - Exeter City FC

    Completing the Square: My Cricket Web Blog

  4. #4
    International Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,171

    Icon3

    No
    Proud member of Twenty20-Is-Boring Society.
    T2IBS Media relations officer
    T2IBS official face
    R.I..P ........ Fardin Qayuumi
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard View Post
    Good luck at the hospital.
    Quote Originally Posted by GeraintIsMyHero View Post
    Fraz is always the best option IMO
    frazbest@hotmail.com


  5. #5
    U19 Cricketer no1_gangsta_786's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Souf east london
    Posts
    485
    Quote Originally Posted by Armadillo
    My question is this:
    If a right handed batsman plays a reverse sweep and the ball pitches outside the leg stump and it strikes the batsman in line with the stumps, should the batsman be viewed as a left hander and therefore be considered for lbw?
    I was meaning to ask this aswell as it happened to Matt Prior...the commentators were not too sure how the umpire could give it out and the only reason they came up with was that he was being viewed as a left hander for the LBW as he was playing a reverse sweep.
    RIP BOB WOOLMER

  6. #6
    Request Your Custom Title Now! benchmark00's Avatar
    Tournaments Won: 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Is this CricketWeb's greatest poster in the short history of the forum?
    Posts
    37,156
    What would happen if there was a batsman who was totally front on, in the fashion of French cricket. How does one decipher between a left and right handed batsman in that case?
    Parmi | #1 draft pick | Jake King is **** | Big Bash League tipping champion of the universe
    Come and Paint Turtle
    Quote Originally Posted by Jono View Post
    Kohli. Do something in test cricket for once please.

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Eternal Optimist / Cricket Web Staff Member GIMH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    On a trip to the moon
    Posts
    48,553
    Quote Originally Posted by benchmark00
    What would happen if there was a batsman who was totally front on, in the fashion of French cricket. How does one decipher between a left and right handed batsman in that case?
    They can never be gotten out, because both sides are legside
    Quote Originally Posted by DingDong View Post
    gimh has now surpassed richard as the greatest cw member ever imo

    RIP Craigos. A true CW legend. You will be missed.

  8. #8
    State Vice-Captain Armadillo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Literate Essex- yes, it does exist!
    Posts
    1,092
    That's true. Another loophole is that if a batsman starts with a left handed stance then quickly switches to his normal right handed stance, he can pad away any balls pitching outside the right handers off stump, right?

  9. #9
    International Vice-Captain Jungle Jumbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,898
    The batsman's bottom hand on the bat at the point of delivery could be used - very few players can change their hands around on the handle quick enought to react, so that although a batsman may be reverse sweeping and appear to be playing like a left hander, he is still effectively holding the bat as a right hander.

  10. #10
    Request Your Custom Title Now! benchmark00's Avatar
    Tournaments Won: 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Is this CricketWeb's greatest poster in the short history of the forum?
    Posts
    37,156
    Quote Originally Posted by Armadillo
    That's true. Another loophole is that if a batsman starts with a left handed stance then quickly switches to his normal right handed stance, he can pad away any balls pitching outside the right handers off stump, right?
    The rules against changing hands and stance, I'm sure of it, I just couldn't be bothered looking them up for the correct wording.

  11. #11
    R_D
    R_D is offline
    International Debutant R_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,938
    thought you can't change stance jsut when a bowlers about bowl.
    Last edited by R_D; 15-08-2006 at 10:12 AM.

  12. #12
    International Captain
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    england
    Posts
    5,698
    This reminds me of that other question as to whether the batsman is allowed to hold the bails on if he thinks he's going to be bowled.



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. The first rule of _______ club is....
    By Paid The Umpire in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 23-11-2008, 08:39 PM
  2. Duckworth/Lewis rule for club cricket
    By theozzfactor in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15-08-2006, 07:33 AM
  3. Looking for a clarification on a rule...
    By Sudeep in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 11-08-2006, 10:08 AM
  4. Champions Trophy on - lets try another rule!
    By chaminda_00 in forum ICC Champions Trophy 2006
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-08-2006, 01:48 PM
  5. Rule Clarification
    By Queenslander in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 23-02-2005, 05:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •