Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29

Thread: Looking for a clarification on a rule...

  1. #1
    International Captain Sudeep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Valley of the Sun
    Posts
    7,284

    Looking for a clarification on a rule...

    I was playing street cricket today, and there was a huge ruckus, that broke as a result of a fine point in a rule.

    What happened was this: A bowler bowled a full pitch delivery that passed the batsman, who stayed in his crease, above the waist height. However, it was a looped delivery, so there was a significant reduction in height as it reached the line of the stumps, and kissed the bails, which fell off. It was given no ball, then reversed to a wicket, then reversed to a no ball again, before all hell broke lose, and it all almost came to a fist fight between players.

    Now, the question is: is it a no ball, or a wicket?
    "The optimum human population of earth is zero." - Dave Foreman

  2. #2
    The Wheel is Forever silentstriker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    37,899
    If it was given no ball, then its a no ball. After the batsman sees the signal of a no ball, he cannot be dissmed by it (except run out), so it is irrelevent whether the bails were clipped or not. The blame rests soely on the umpire and his decision to give it a no ball, but the batsman is not out.


    BTW, I used to live (and play street cricket) in Baroda, where do you live?
    Quote Originally Posted by KungFu_Kallis View Post
    Peter Siddle top scores in both innings....... Matthew Wade gets out twice in one ball
    "The future light cone of the next Indian fast bowler is exactly the same as the past light cone of the previous one"
    -My beliefs summarized in words much more eloquent than I could come up with

    How the Universe came from nothing

  3. #3
    Englishman BoyBrumby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Locked up inside my opium den, surrounded by some Chinamen
    Posts
    45,271
    I think it's a no-ball. The umpire should signal no-ball if it passes the batter above waist-height when he's standing normally.

    Must've dipped a heck of a lot to hit the stumps!
    Cricket Web's 2013/14 Premier League Tipping Champion

    - As featured in The Independent.

    "I don't believe a word of Pietersen's book, but then I don't believe a word anyone else has said either."
    - Simon Barnes renders further comment on KP's autobiography superfluous in a sentence

  4. #4
    The Wheel is Forever silentstriker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    37,899
    Quote Originally Posted by BoyBrumby
    I think it's a no-ball. The umpire should signal no-ball if it passes the batter above waist-height when he's standing normally.

    Must've dipped a heck of a lot to hit the stumps!

    Or the bowler was a traditional Indian paceman, in which case the ball had six seconds to dip from when it passed the batsman until it reached the stumps.


  5. #5
    Cricket Web: All-Time Legend Samuel_Vimes's Avatar
    Defend Your Castle Champion! Monkey Diving Champion!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Bonn, BRD
    Posts
    22,965
    Quote Originally Posted by BoyBrumby
    I think it's a no-ball. The umpire should signal no-ball if it passes the batter above waist-height when he's standing normally.

    Must've dipped a heck of a lot to hit the stumps!
    Unless a spinner (or, as the rules so precisely put it: a slow-paced delivery) is bowling, in which case the ball only needs to pass above shoulder height.
    Messi scores on the rebound.

    Founder of ESAS - Edgar Schiferli, the best associate bowler
    A follower of the schools of Machiavelli, Bentham, Locke, Hobbes, Sutcliffe, Bradman, Lindwall, Miller, Hassett and Benaud
    Member of JMAS, DMAS, FRAS and RTDAS

    Quote Originally Posted by Adolf Grünbaum
    Is the conduct approved by the gods right ("pious"), because of properties of its own, or merely because it pleases the gods to value or command it?

  6. #6
    The Wheel is Forever silentstriker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    37,899
    Quote Originally Posted by Samuel_Vimes
    Unless a spinner (or, as the rules so precisely put it: a slow-paced delivery) is bowling, in which case the ball only needs to pass above shoulder height.

    Either way, its not the batsmans' fault. The ball was declared a no ball by the umpire, and at that point he cannot be dismissed by it, no matter what.

  7. #7
    Englishman BoyBrumby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Locked up inside my opium den, surrounded by some Chinamen
    Posts
    45,271
    Quote Originally Posted by Samuel_Vimes
    Unless a spinner (or, as the rules so precisely put it: a slow-paced delivery) is bowling, in which case the ball only needs to pass above shoulder height.
    That's very ambiguous, isn't it?

    How slow is slow? What height was Cairns's slower ball at when it passed Read in '99, I wonder? If it was over waist-height should it have been a no-ball or allowed 'cos it was a "slow" delivery?

  8. #8
    International 12th Man
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,747
    This is one of the stupidest laws in cricket. I have no idea why the distinction between "slow" and "quick" bowling is persisted with. All balls passing the striker above waste height should be noballs and that would be the end of it.

  9. #9
    International 12th Man
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,747
    Quote Originally Posted by BoyBrumby
    That's very ambiguous, isn't it?

    How slow is slow? What height was Cairns's slower ball at when it passed Read in '99, I wonder? If it was over waist-height should it have been a no-ball or allowed 'cos it was a "slow" delivery?
    It passed Read at ground level

  10. #10
    International Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,171

    Icon3

    Its an out . Happens here all the time . Its a darn out . A delivery is a delivery until it reaches the stump and the dumb umpire should be able to see what happened to the stumps . However if the umpire has given it a No-Ball then its not out . But depends because the umpire's discretion to take his decision back or not . If there is a sane umpire then he should give it an out and can over rule his previous no ball decision .
    We(me and my playing) buddies after a long discussion and negotiations came to this conclusion that its "out"if it hits the stumps . And one more thing if a spinner is bowling a full toss over the waist hight then its not a no-ball at all . mind that ............
    Proud member of Twenty20-Is-Boring Society.
    T2IBS Media relations officer
    T2IBS official face
    R.I..P ........ Fardin Qayuumi
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard View Post
    Good luck at the hospital.
    Quote Originally Posted by GeraintIsMyHero View Post
    Fraz is always the best option IMO
    frazbest@hotmail.com

  11. #11
    Cricket Web Staff Member / Global Moderator Neil Pickup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Oxford, England
    Posts
    26,857
    I would have noballed it in a kids' game but not in an adult match; but once the noball's been called it's not out.
    MSN Messenger: minardineil2000 at hotmail dot com | AAAS Chairman
    CricketWeb Black | CricketWeb XI Captain
    ClarkeWatch: We're Watching Rikki - Are You?

    Up The Grecians - Exeter City FC

    Completing the Square: My Cricket Web Blog

  12. #12
    International Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,171
    There is a thing called "discretion" which can let the umpire to over-rule his decision .

  13. #13
    Cricket Web Staff Member / Global Moderator Neil Pickup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Oxford, England
    Posts
    26,857
    Yes; but you can't do it if play has been affected by the decision. If you reverse the no-ball, play must come back to where the decision's reversed, then the ball must surely become dead and therefore the batter is not out.

  14. #14
    International Captain
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,171

    Icon3

    Nope ! It may well be called an out .
    I know what you are saying but still an umpire has a discretion power to treat a "legal delivery" in a proper way .

  15. #15
    Eyes not spreadsheets marc71178's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    57,792
    Not if he's previously called it no ball, since the batsman can then argue that since it was a no ball called he changed his shot.
    marc71178 - President and founding member of AAAS - we don't only appreciate when he does well, but also when he's not quite so good!

    Anyone want to join the Society?

    Beware the evils of Kit-Kats - they're immoral apparently.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. The first rule of _______ club is....
    By Paid The Umpire in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 23-11-2008, 08:39 PM
  2. Champions Trophy on - lets try another rule!
    By chaminda_00 in forum ICC Champions Trophy 2006
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-08-2006, 01:48 PM
  3. Northamptonshire Rule
    By DamienH1234 in forum General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 20-06-2006, 03:25 PM
  4. Shouldn't this rule be changed?
    By honestbharani in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 28-04-2006, 06:35 PM
  5. Rule Clarification
    By Queenslander in forum Cricket Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 23-02-2005, 05:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •