Cricket Player Manager
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 56

Thread: You're the umpire

  1. #1
    Eyes not spreadsheets marc71178's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    57,857

    You're the umpire

    Team A 200 all out
    Team B 200-9.

    Spinner on, pitches one a foot outside leg stump, and it carries on down leg side with the batsman unable to hit it but toppling over inhis attempt to hit it, and falling outside his ground.

    Wicket-keeper takes the ball and whips off the bails.

    What is the result, and why?
    marc71178 - President and founding member of AAAS - we don't only appreciate when he does well, but also when he's not quite so good!

    Anyone want to join the Society?

    Beware the evils of Kit-Kats - they're immoral apparently.

  2. #2
    U19 Vice-Captain
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    538
    Out isn't it? Stumping is allowed off a wide.
    Cheers:)

    Visit http://pub11.ezboard.com/bopinionsunfetteredindianstyle56650

  3. #3
    Cricketer Of The Year Anil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Tattooine
    Posts
    9,862
    He is out and the result is a tie.
    Quote Originally Posted by FRAZ View Post
    very very close friend of mine is an Arab Christian and he speaks Arabic too and the visible hidden filth shows the mentality which may never change .....
    Quote Originally Posted by FRAZ View Post
    AAooouchh !!!!!
    I still remember that zipper accident of mine when I was in kindergarten ..... (Thing is OK I repeat thing is OK now )!!!

  4. #4
    State 12th Man
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    787
    I think its clear, that he gets out but the team gets credited for a run so team B wins.

    Look at it this way...If it was not the last run or the last player but just a normal situation say 100-5 and a wide was bowled and the batsman got stumped...the score would become 101-6.

    But I have another interesting twist to this....same situation as Marc mentioned, its a wide but the batsman gets hit wicket, will team B be credited with a run for a wide ball, or the out happens first and the innings is over.


  5. #5
    Cricketer Of The Year Anil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Tattooine
    Posts
    9,862
    Originally posted by royGilchrist
    I think its clear, that he gets out but the team gets credited for a run so team B wins.

    Look at it this way...If it was not the last run or the last player but just a normal situation say 100-5 and a wide was bowled and the batsman got stumped...the score would become 101-6.

    But I have another interesting twist to this....same situation as Marc mentioned, its a wide but the batsman gets hit wicket, will team B be credited with a run for a wide ball, or the out happens first and the innings is over.
    Really! Does the team get a run if you're out off a wide ball? If that's the case, what's the difference if it's hit-wicket or a stumping?

  6. #6
    State 12th Man
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    787
    I'm pretty sure (someone, eyes_only?, correct me if I'm wrong) that stumping on a wide ball does result in a run. But I'm not sure if hit wicket on a wide ball results in a run, but if I had to guess I'd say no.

  7. #7
    Hall of Fame Member age_master's Avatar
    Plasmanaut on Fire Champion!
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    15,777
    yep team B wins as the wide is 1 run, so they are 201 all out
    Member of CW Green
    Kerry O'Keefe - Worlds funniest Commentator

  8. #8
    Request Your Custom Title Now! Simon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    25,599
    i remember aING cup game 2 seasons ago where the winning runs were a wide, but the batsman was run out off the ball as well.

  9. #9
    Eyes not spreadsheets marc71178's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    57,857
    You kind of got the answer between you, Team B does win by 1 wicket.

    As soon as the wide occurs it is one run so the game is over, and the ball is dead.

    So in that ING game, the batsman wasn't run out as the game was already over.

    Roy has put an interesting spin on that question though - my guess is that if the ball has passed the stumps before the hit wicket, then a wide is called first, otherwise it's a wicket - but I can't be 100% on that!

  10. #10
    State 12th Man
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    787
    Ok thats fair enough I did not realize that as soon as team B got the run the match is over and the batsman doenst lose his wicket.

    As for my question, I do not know the answer just asking a question, but the way you describe it Marc doesnt seem like an elegant way of deciding, and there is too much left to the discretion of the ump, also the question can be asked which ump makes the decision, is it the leg umpire?

    I think it will make more sense if even if the ball goes behind the wkts before the hit wkt, the team doesnt get credit for the wide run, and batsman is out hit wkt. A bit like if a batsman hits a six, and the ball crosses the fence before, but then gets hit wkt, he is not credited for any runs and is proclaimed out. If the ump was judging what happened first, it will be too complicated, and not clear cut enough.

    But someone should give us a concrete answer, fro the rule book. I guess, eyes_only is an aspiring umpire among us?

  11. #11
    Hall of Fame Member age_master's Avatar
    Plasmanaut on Fire Champion!
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    15,777
    the ball cannot be taken from in front of the stumps unless the keeper is completeley in front of the stumps or the batsmen are running (or the rule goes something like that i think)

  12. #12
    State 12th Man
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    787
    posted by age_master...
    the ball cannot be taken from in front of the stumps unless the keeper is completeley in front of the stumps or the batsmen are running (or the rule goes something like that i think)
    I'm not sure what u r referring to?

  13. #13
    All Time Legend Paid The Umpire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    In Your House, With A Knife!
    Posts
    2,300
    The score would be 201-9 as the ball is dead after the ball is given wide before the bails come off.

    If the wide is given after the bails are dislodged then it is both a wide and a stumping.

  14. #14
    International Debutant Eyes_Only's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Inverell, Northern NSW
    Posts
    2,273
    According to Law 25.8 (The Laws Of Cricket 2000 Code), the only way a batsman may be given out from a wide ball is if he/she:


    1. Handles the ball
    2. Hits the wicket
    3. Obstructs the field
    4. Is run out
    5. Is stumped



    According to Law 25.6, all runs that have been completed by the batsmen together with the wide balls will be scored as wides balls.... Apart from any 5 run penalty, all runs resulting resulting from the call of the wide shall be debited to the bowler....

    That's what the Laws say...see if you can work it out in this example!! :frog:

    PS: For what it's worth...Paid is the only one who has come close to the correct answer!! 8D

    [Edited on 12/10/2002 by Eyes_Only]
    Simon Taufel---ICC Umpire Of The Year 2005/2006/2007


    Proud Member of CW Green


    Proud member of the Stedingham Jets Grade Cricket Team


    NSW Blues---ING Cup Champions 2005/2006


    3rd May 1955-19th January 2004----RIP Hookesy


    "Just keep your mouth shut and I'll only have to think you're stupid." The golden rule of umpiring according to the world's best cricket umpire, Australia's Simon Taufel.

  15. #15
    Eyes not spreadsheets marc71178's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    57,857
    Originally posted by age_master
    the ball cannot be taken from in front of the stumps unless the keeper is completeley in front of the stumps or the batsmen are running (or the rule goes something like that i think)
    But it can't be called wide if doesn't pass the stumps, surely?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •