Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tips for a swing bowler

Pinball Champion!

Tips for a swing bowler

Hi there

Well its the off season, and I want to develop my inswing.. Im a fairly straight up and down fast bowler who relies on height and bounce and I want to get some new tricks..

I've never been able to swing a cricket ball off straight, inswing is something I want to practice because our slow low pitches rarely allow edges to carry, so I think a good outswinger will be wasted..

Action is obviously important, but mine is very chest on, is this a major problem?

Basically would like some thoughts from anyone here who practices the art of swing bowling..
    Quote Originally Posted by vic_orthdox View Post
    Don't like using my iPod dock. Ruins battery life too much.
    Quote Originally Posted by benchmark00 View Post
    Thanks Dick Smith. Will remember to subscribe to your newsletter for more electronic fun facts.

Well I'm no expert on inswing bowling but I know that its vital that you have a side on action. Also you should hold the ball with the shiny side facing inwards and seam pointing towards leg slip. The side of the thumb should be on the seam. As I said, no expert.
    Member of LSU (bowl part time pies)

RIP Fardin

Target Champion! Stuarts Xtreme Skateboarding Champion!
    Your first lesson is the very same as my bowling coach told me almost 40 years ago.

Get an old cricket ball, paint one side black and the other side white. Now go and bowl with it. When you can deliver the ball in such a way that the seam stays upright without scrambling, come back for lesson two.

That sounds really flippant, but believe you me, it took me a full year before I could convince him that I was ready for the next step. If you can't hold a good seam position, you can't swing the ball with any consistency.

Edit: