• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

books to improve knowledge of the game?

cricnewbye

Cricket Spectator
I'm quite new to cricket but since i already read a lot about this great game i already know the rules, basic strategies, etc i just need a book for advanced learning, what can you ppl suggest?
And what about a book outlining big series, teams and players of the past?

Majin

International Debutant
Well for general information about players, series and teams and stuff you can't go far wrong with the Wisden Almanack. Or however you spell it. *_*

Neil Pickup

Cricket Web Moderator
Mike Brearley's "The Art of Captaincy" is a wonderful book. I'd also recommend Ed Smith's "On and Off the Field" - a very well written and revealing diary of the 2003 county season. Simon Hughes' "Jargon Busting" is a good second-step read, and there are many, many books chronicling the history of the game.

archie mac

International Coach
Neil Pickup said:
Mike Brearley's "The Art of Captaincy" is a wonderful book. I'd also recommend Ed Smith's "On and Off the Field" - a very well written and revealing diary of the 2003 county season. Simon Hughes' "Jargon Busting" is a good second-step read, and there are many, many books chronicling the history of the game.