• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Leg Spin or Off Spin????

dro87

U19 12th Man
Hi, with the season just started here in Italy i was thinking of changing my bowling style... I now bowl off-spin, i manage to place the ball on the spot, decive with flight, but i don't get much spin...
I was trying in the nets bowling a cuople of leg breaks... I spin the ball loads more, but i'm not that good with lenght... Bowl some half takkers, and some full tosses every now and then... :p
Considering i'm mainly a batsman, who bowls not more than 3 o 4 overs a game, what do you think i should bowl?
Leg or Off???

thanx in advance

Neil Pickup

Cricket Web Moderator
It's always the same with spin - leggies do more, and are less controllable.

If you're bowling as a part-timer/partnership-breaker then I'd go with leggies as you're more likely to produce the wicket ball you'll look for. Or strangle someone with.

steds

Hall of Fame Member
it's what you feel more comfortable bowling. I tried to change to off breaks last summer and every single ball I bowled was dragged short. It just wouldn't work for me and I feel more comfortable bowling leg breaks. What you bowl is up to you.

BoyBrumby

Englishman
I'm a (exceptionally mediocre) seamer but occasionally I have tried to bowl leg-cutters in the nets for a bit of variety. I can't land two in the same spot tho! They generally end up as full-tosses.