• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Tips/advice much appreciated!! Confidence with the pull/sweep

bigmitch

School Boy/Girl Cricketer
Hey everyone, yes I am a newbie :unsure:

I am also a tall 16 year old and fancy myself as an opening bat.

My favourite shot would be the off drive, I like to cut and also have a relatively good eye for defence.

However, I seem to lack confidence playing the pull shot off bowlers who can work up some genuine pace, particularly left armers from around the wicket, even if I know they have a tendency to drag it down the leg side.

Against spin, I'm not assured in playing the conventional sweep off a full ball on the stumps, I tend to miss or top edge it. I think this may be due to me not getting low enough and in a good position. Otherwise I back my footwork to play straight against the spin, but I feel like I need a release shot to turn the strike over.

Again, my biggest struggle would be left armers bringing it in from around the wicket, if it angles in to me I lose confidence and therefore shape, and a full one with a touch of inswing is often enough to knock my off stump over.

Advice and tips on these two shots in particular would be very much appreciated!!! Thanks guys :D