Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Hurricane

Thread: Swinging the Ball

Cricket Spectator

Swinging the Ball

I'm a 14 year old and its my first year in adult cricket. My bowling is moderately accurate but not that pacy and I want to know how to get the ball swinging more.

Don't be jealous of the Georgie Pie super smash
    Quote Originally Posted by Hendo107 View Post
    I'm a 14 year old and its my first year in adult cricket. My bowling is moderately accurate but not that pacy and I want to know how to get the ball swinging more.
    Google. You should be able to read about this in someone's blog.

My limited knowledge of the topic is this

Outswing, get in close to the stumps - get really really side on. Deliver the ball from about 10:30 as opposed to 12 o'clock - follow through well - and yes shiny side etc etc etc.

Inswing - get chest on shiny side on other side - follow through down the right hand side of your body.

Look there is a lot to it, even your feet position matter, read as much as you can and watch footage of Ben Hilfenhaus or someone who prodigiously swings it.

At the end of the day, only some people ever figure out how to swing the ball and some people never do.
    Zinzan likes this.
    1) Ross is the Boss.
    2) See point 1.

Overrated XI M Bracewell, Burns, Rahane, Don Voges, Bairstow, Alecz Day, Donovan Grobelaar, Luke Ronchi, Faulkner, Dan Christian, Permaul

Cricket Spectator
    Quote Originally Posted by Hurricane View Post
    Google. You should be able to read about this in someone's blog.

My limited knowledge of the topic is this

Outswing, get in close to the stumps - get really really side on. Deliver the ball from about 10:30 as opposed to 12 o'clock - follow through well - and yes shiny side etc etc etc.

Inswing - get chest on shiny side on other side - follow through down the right hand side of your body.