• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Confidence as a starter

Phate06

Cricket Spectator
Hi there

I am fairly new to playing the game, dad used to play years ago, and apart from that I have had no experience in playing cricket. Last year I joined my girlfriends dads team, and played a few friendlys, done some bowling as well and really enjoyed myself. At Xmas my whole family brought me everything I need, you name it i have it, ready for the new season which starts in 2 weeks.

The thing is, I think I have done to much reading up and watching you tube clips, as all of a sudden my confidence has been shot to pieces, and I am dreading facing fast balls.

How can I ensure this confidence, which I had last season, returns without the fear of being hit by the ball, or making a fool of myself in games.

Thank you in advance for your comments

wellAlbidarned

International Coach
Seeing as you're a beginner, I seriously doubt you'll be up against bowlers anywhere near the pace of those you've been watching. It's natural to **** yourself watching them because they're the the top .001% of cricketers. You'll be fine.

Phate06

Cricket Spectator
Thanks for that I didn't think of it like that. I am only playing in league 5 of a village league so yes I suppose the calibre of bowling is not going to be that fast.

Thank you, I suppose once I'm out there and I'm hitting the balls my confidence will increase 8-)

Phate06

Cricket Spectator