• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Hands vs Eyes

Гурин

School Boy/Girl Captain
Something that's made me think has been the reason why a player bats RH or LH.

When I started playing cricket, being a natural right arm player I was made to bat right handed - and couldn't put bat on ball even if my life was on the line, highest score in two years been a 5 (when a nick went all the way for four). One of the reasons was surely that at the time I didn't had footwork nor a backlift, but the truth was also that I had problems picking the ball early.

Since then, I switched to a left handed stance, honestly saying only to rob a measly few wides at the absymal level I played, but after a couple of innings when I feeled uneasy I started middling the ball a few times, because I was actually able to see it better, and getting going easily into double figures.

Now. We know that the top and the bottom hands are doing completely different but still important work on the bat on every different shot, so it's not really about which one is the natural leading hand. Just look at tennis, where a two-handed backhand is actually the equivalent of an opposite-hand cricketing shot, to see that it's not much of a problem. The late Peter Roebuck wrote about how he thought that natural lefties should bat right handed and vice-versa.