Thread: Kit for beginner

Cricket Spectator

Kit for beginner

Hi everyone. I am fairly new to cricket (started playing last summer at the age of 31), and am now looking to pick up some kit of my own. I am not looking for anything fancy, just basic equipment that will do the job. I practice once a week and play about 5 matches a season.

The reason I want to get my own kit is that out club recently had nets installed, where me and a friend can go practice on our own at any time, but without access to the club gear.

I am in Canada, so options are limited, but does anyone have an opinion on a set like this:

CA Somo Kit [10845] - $249.00 : Desi Sport, One Stop Cricket Shop

Is this decent gear for a beginner, or is this junk?

Any help appreciated. Thanks.

Cricketer Of The Year Hurricane's Avatar
    Buy it. It is a great deal for someone who hasn't played before. You better be particular about what size "cricket suit" you want.

When you get more serious use these guys Dynamic Sports Online - Field Hockey and Cricket Equipment

My friend runs the company and he knows cricket. He runs it out of Vancouver so if you live there you can even visit him and hand pick out your equipment.

Probably if you tell him you know me he will give you a discount.

But seriously - just get anything when you are beginner.

When you have been playing for a year in a team you can check out other guy's equipment and develop a feeling for what you like and don't like.

If you are determined to have good equipment right off the bat then go straight to Dynamic Sports. Send the owner an email and get him to assist you. He will sell you a Kookaburra bat because that is what he deals in. I bought one from him and love it.

Final note - Desisports are selling that kit for $250 - if you buy all of that stuff at a higher quality you will be looking at $200 for the bat alone. And another $150-$200 for the rest of it.
    Quote Originally Posted by HeathDavisSpeed View Post