• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Kit for beginner

DanH

Cricket Spectator
Hi everyone. I am fairly new to cricket (started playing last summer at the age of 31), and am now looking to pick up some kit of my own. I am not looking for anything fancy, just basic equipment that will do the job. I practice once a week and play about 5 matches a season.

The reason I want to get my own kit is that out club recently had nets installed, where me and a friend can go practice on our own at any time, but without access to the club gear.

I am in Canada, so options are limited, but does anyone have an opinion on a set like this:

CA Somo Kit [10845] - $249.00 : Desi Sport, One Stop Cricket Shop

Is this decent gear for a beginner, or is this junk?

Any help appreciated. Thanks.

Hurricane

Hall of Fame Member
Buy it. It is a great deal for someone who hasn't played before. You better be particular about what size "cricket suit" you want.

When you get more serious use these guys Dynamic Sports Online - Field Hockey and Cricket Equipment

My friend runs the company and he knows cricket. He runs it out of Vancouver so if you live there you can even visit him and hand pick out your equipment.

Probably if you tell him you know me he will give you a discount.

But seriously - just get anything when you are beginner.