• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Collapsing Back Leg

Dan

Hall of Fame Member
I've heard a lot about a collapsing back leg being a major cause for back injuries in fast bowlers and, as a coach, I naturally want to prevent this from happening to any of the players I coach.

Is it such a huge problem - many international players appear to have a bent back leg at delivery - and what are the warning signs that it is occurring? What does a collapsing back leg actually look like?

benchmark00

Request Your Custom Title Now!
If you're worried about ****s getting back injuries, a bigger problem you should be on the look out is the angle of the bowler's back foot when it lands, especially if you're coaching younger kids who are wanting to bowl fast (easier to get them early).

Get the kid to bowl a few balls and watch his back foot closely each time. If the back foot lands and is parallel to the crease, he's a side on bowler. If his back foot naturally points down the pitch, he's front on. Back problems happen when the bowler is neither of those things and instead his foot is pointed 'diagonally' or sort've towards backward square leg to a right hander.