• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Not able to chuck the ball!

rajushank84

Cricket Spectator
Hi,

I'm 26 y/o but I'm new to cricket. Never played cricket till now, and now want to learn. Tried for about a week now, and here's my problem.

The first day I tried to bowl, the ball ended up way away from the nets :laugh: . Once even landed on top of the net! Now after a week, it comes close to the batsman and I even managed to bowl a whole over without a wide.

Now my problem is this: Though I think I am slowly getting the line correct, I am not getting ANY pace on the ball. It becomes very slow and almost stops by the time it reaches the batsman, or pitches twice sometimes ("deadball"). Initially my friends told me to just keep trying & practicing but after a week's time, today they asked me to just stand in one place and chuck the ball first - forget the bowling action, just chuck the ball. What we found is, I am not able to even chuck the ball reasonably fast like the others!

Where (I think) I have improved is: Now I do a decent run-up, use my non-bowling arm, throw it up and get a rhythmic jump, complete the circular motion and bowl as my non-bowling arm comes down, deliver after the front foot has landed, land the front foot parallel to the crease, and come off with a side-on action. The ball even spins a little (I am trying to do off-spin). But the problem is, as I mentioned, it just doesn't seem to have any force in it :(

Any ideas?