• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Bowling Action- Help

Breathe

Cricket Spectator
Hey guys,

Im a newbie here. Basically, I used to have a nice smooth bowling action but recently, nothing seems right. I know theres a lot of energy leaks so was wondering if you guys could help me out. Below is the link of my action (which includes slow-mo as well). I'm not actually bowling a ball but just going through my action (as that's what i usually do to get my rhythm back). Thanks.

YouTube - Kevin's Bowling Action PC

knights12

Cricket Spectator
What problems are you having?

I'm guessing consistency. The main thing I see is that your bowling arm comes across your body (gets in front of your left shoulder) in your coil up. Your arm then goes on an angle out the right side of your body and you get slightly round arm. I would suggest that you practice getting your bowling hand going up in front of your right shoulder or next to your chin, this should straighten things up.

Tom M

School Boy/Girl Cricketer
My advice would depend on how long you've been bowling for.

If you're a REAL newbie, like less than a season's experience, just keep on bowling. Learn to recognise when you get things right, and remember the way your body felt. Also, remember what things feel like when they're wrong. I think that will sort out a few of the issues you're having.

If you're a bit more experienced than that, there are a few things I think you can work on.