• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Bowling finger spin

jathu

School Boy/Girl Cricketer
I want to be a part time off spinner. I have been bowling off spin for about two years. I would like to know what are the different variations i could bowl apart from my stock ball. And also what are the small things i could do to improve my spin.

Migara

Cricketer Of The Year
Assuming you are a off break bowler

Stock off break - seam is usually tilted 45 degrees towrds leg side on rotation. This will give good spin and bounce for stock ball. Your stock ball should be the most dangerous one. If you tilt it more towards on side, it will spin more, but will be slow off the pitch - side spinner. If you tilt it less, it will spit off the pitch, but less spin - over spinner.

The ball that is release in front of the hand like a seamer is the arm ball. This ball will be quicker and flatter, and if bowled properly, will swing away from the right hander. (See Sanath Jayasuriya's arm ball). There is another arm ball, where you extend the wrist slightly at the point of delivery so the shiny surface of the ball will hit the pitch. For this, rough side shoud be facind the batsman. You just undercut the spin with our wrist. This ball will look very similar to a off break, will drift, drop but will not turn. (ex. Shakib Al Hasan)

Then Doosra, carrom ball etc . . Who c ares if you can bowl above four?

jathu