Originally Posted by Scaly piscine
Taking out a player, as in they go past (or as they're going past) an Aussie and the Aussie then deliberately pushes them over, grabs their shirt, trips them up or whatever because it's to their advantage to give away a free-kick instead of letting them continue. Japan were nearly always fouled when they dived, as opposed to a typical Harry Kewell dive which requires no contact whatsoever.
There's nothing wrong with that really. Provided it's not in a situation where it prevents a goal, it's just a foul, and slowing up the game by fouling the opposition is legitimate, assuming the referee is fair and calls the fouls when they are there. And if you are fouled and go down, it's not a dive. That's a foul. A dive is when someone is standing behind you (for instance) and does nothing wrong and you throw yourself to the ground in an attempt to win a free kick when there isn't one.