Originally Posted by GIMH
The fact it was offside raises a decent question tbf. With goal line tech in place presumably a goal would have been given. That doesn't seem right really. Thoughts?
I haven't seen the incident as generally England pool matches at international tournaments send me to sleep, but I think that's irrelevant. If the goal line judge's job is to only decide on whether the ball has crossed the line, then he couldn't refuse to award it because he thought a bloke was off side.
It's a bit like a goal umpire in AFL. His or her job is to decide whether the ball has gone between the sticks, not to decide whether something in the lead up means the player shouldn't have been in position to kick the ball to start with.