Originally Posted by straw man
Yeah no further swing assumed after impact. What the guy on the radio was saying was that if full toss the umpire should suddenly the assume the ball is going to miraculously travel a wicket-to-wicket line. ie. parallel to the path between middle stump at one end and middle stump at the other.
It's just amazing that a commentator who is supposed to know the game can think this.
Yeah so e.g. a bowler bowling right-arm over comes wide of the crease and hits a right-handed batsman on the full in line with leg-stump. The ball is missing leg by another set of stumps but some people reckon it's out. An unbelievably common misunderstanding.