Originally Posted by silentstriker
Ah, that's all I was asking. I find it a little odd that such situation had not come up before in the huge history...
Hopefully this is cause for a change in rules.
Absolutely won't be and nor should it. It was a professional foul to prevent a goal. Red card and penalty sufficient punishment.
Situation has come up dozens of times; once earlier in this world cup in fact (Harry Kewell v Ghana too, ironically enough).
If the ref is allowed to start assuming things it sets a very dangerous precedent, IMHO.