Originally Posted by Goughy
Thats fair enough. If you think it looked deliberate then it should be a pen and a red. No question.
I personally thought it could be seen as accidental as the ball was blasted from 6 yards and it inadvertently hit the arm. That is a value judgement and Im fine with the decision either way.
Im not debating the call. If people think he made a move with the arm then it is a pen. My point, and I think others as well, is that just because the ball hit arm and prevented a goal does not automatically mean penalty (something I dont think you disagree with.)
Originally Posted by GeraintIsMyHero
Yesterday adamc asked about the handball rule and I think I replied that it had to be deliberate but that there is also a common-sense ruling to apply. Now I think Kewell didn't deliberately move his arm to the ball. However I don't think he made any attempt to not handle the ball. It's not a case of people not understanding, if handballs like that on the line were not given then there would be an awful lot of silliness.
That being said, have seen more blatant ones not given.
Also, I felt Australia responded a lot better to being a man down than last time, especially after the break.
Seen it several times and it still looks deliberate to me. If you make a move towards the ball with your arm outstretched I'd suggest it's always going to give the semblance of volition.
The view from the side is the best one, Kewell actually raises his arm slightly as the ball moves through the air. Instinct? Possibly, but it's a deliberate movement to my way of thinking.