So, who wants to argue with umpire Holder?
"Under the spreading chestnut tree,
I sold you and you sold me."
171/5 with a free hit coming up then three legitimate balls remaining. I'm very impressed that the WIndies have managed to stay in there right 'til the end!
The fielding was horrible I guess? If we could sort that out in quick time we'd be a lock for qualifying.
Sir Alexander Chapman Ferguson = Greatest Ever Manager
"One from ten leaves zero." - Eric Williams, former T&T PM
Member of Cricket Web Green
Member of Northside Power
R.I.P Fardin Qayyumi
Haha, RAGING at the commentators on Matthews' fielding. It is definately not a six. Learn the rules of the sport you commentate on professionals. Reckon most of my Under 13 boys would know that. [/rant]
Jesus brings life eternal
Great effort! I've often wondered about exactly this scenario. I think the ruling was right. We don't check whether a fielder's hands are over the rope when taking a catch. Is there a specification on which part of a fielder's body can be outside the ropes?
The ball shall be regarded as pitching beyond the boundary and 6 runs shall be scored if a fielder
(i) has any part of his person touching the boundary or grounded beyond the boundary when he catches the ball.
(ii) catches the ball and subsequently touches the boundary or grounds some part of his person beyond the boundary while carrying the ball
source:Law 19 (Boundaries) - Laws - Laws of Cricket - Laws & Spirit - Lord's
So yeah, it's perfectly legal I suppose.
Didn't watch the game but it looks like a poor effort from Sarwan: 28 from 26 with no boundaries. With a smaller target it might have been a good move for Sarwan to make sure he was there at the end but in the circumstances the West Indies just let the RRR climb till it was out of reach.
And he's a fella who can hit 'em as well.
WI batting is alright. I certainly reckon they have a fair chance of reaching the semis.
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)