Cricket Player Manager
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The greatest World Cup matches of all-time

Eternal Optimist / Cricket Web Staff Member GIMH's Avatar

The greatest World Cup matches of all-time

Wasn't that a thriller last night?? Ukraine V Switzerland. Couldn't sleep afterwards it was so exciting. Or perhaps not, so to rid that atrocity from our minds, let us recall and remember our favourite World Cup matches. They can be all-time classics, or matches that are memorable for you for one reason or another. there is enough people in this forum to have a wide range

The first WC I remember is USA 94, and vague parts of Italia 90, but as a youngster I was a keen student of the game and as such I have watched many greats on video. Off the top of my head here are a few favourites of mine:

England 1-1 West Germany
    1990, semi-finals, vaguely remember watching it with my sister, but my memories of this game come from watching it on video. It always annoys me when Waddle hits the post, although I don't think it would have counted anyway, because the ref blew up at that moment....

Bulgaria 2-1 Germany (USA 94)

England 2-2 Argentina (France 98)
    Despite the bad result, a classic encounter, and what a goal from Michael Owen. When he scored that goal, i think we all thought we would win the World Cup. Hopefully, in four years he'll round off his World Cup career by scoring another one just like it

Brazil 3-2 Denmark (France 98)
    Absolute belter of a semi-final, this was international football at it's best and most exciting, how good was Laurdrup???

Holland 1-2 West Germany (West germany 74, final)
    How the Dutch never won this is beyond me. Johan Cruyff....

Mexico 2-1 Ireland (USA 94)