Originally Posted by vic_orthdox
Personally, don't really like it. Always thought that the rule was a la basketball, your last contact with the ground had to be from inside the rope. You're technically out of play if you're outside of the rope, hence why you can't start outside there before the ball is bowled.
Completely agree, and that is the rule as I always interpreted it.
If the rule is the same in club cricket, for example, that's ridiculous. The batsman could hit a six 10 metres over the rope, and only end up with 3 because the boundary fielder simply runs back, jumps and throws it back in.
It's ludicrous and stupid. I'm all for entertaining cricket but this is ridiculous.