Originally Posted by andyc
Haha. There's been nothing said in any reputable media outlets because it's pretty much the stupidest thing I've ever heard. Do the players have to get ICC sanctioned underwear before they can play international matches now?
I suspect that is probably just the attitude Ponting took when he was using the now illegal graphite stripped bat 12 months ago....the ICC finally woke up and banned it.
I personally do not think Gilly cheated....he just failed to inform any of the officials on what he was doing...and looking at the rules, it probably does constitute a foreign object, giving an unfair advantage...so it may be deemed illegal.