England team honoured

England’s players and officials have been recognised in the New Years Honours List, after their Ashes triumph this year.

Captain Michael Vaughan and coach Duncan Fletcher receive OBEs, while the rest of the players, including Paul Collingwood who only at The Oval, receive MBEs. OBEs also went to David Graveney, chairman of selectors, Phil Neale, team operations manager and Clare Connor, captain of the England women’s team.

Marcus Trescothick, England’s vice captain, was surprised and delighted with his award. “It’s not something you expect to happen to you just for playing cricket. To be appointed an MBE by your country is a great honour and I think it shows just how much winning the Ashes meant to everybody,” he told BBC Sport.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Alex Crampton