Confident SA unchanged for WC

Having just defeated Pakistan convincingly 3-1, South Africa have named an unchanged squad for the upcoming World Cup tournament in the West Indies.

South Africa have been in excellent form with both bat and ball in one-day international cricket this season, scoring convincing series wins over India and Pakistan. Graeme Smith’s men will travel to the Caribbean confident of challenging for the cup. Leading fast bowler Makhaya Ntini will not arrive with the rest of the squad on February 28, however. He will instead remain in South Africa for the birth of his second child, and is due to arrive in time for South Africa’s second warm-up match, against Pakistan on March 9.

Opener Loots Bosman has been named in the 15, despite average showings at international level in his 8 games to date. Also in the squad is Robin Petersen – the sole genuine spin option – and he will hope to better his dismal record of 16 wickets in 33 matches over the course of the tournament.

The experienced Roger Telemachus has also been included in the 15, making his first trip to the World Cup some 9 years after his ODI debut.

South Africa World Cup squad:
Graeme Smith (capt), Loots Bosman, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Hall, Jacques Kallis, Justin Kemp, Charl Langeveldt, Andre Nel, Makhaya Ntini, Robin Peterson, Shaun Pollock, Ashwell Prince, Roger Telemachus

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Liam Camps