Black Caps Twenty20 squad named

The Black Caps Twenty20 squad for two Twenty20 internationals against Sri Lanka on December 22 and December 26 has been named.

The squad sees the return of Andre Adams, Peter Fulton, Mark Gillespie, Jeetan Patel and James Marshall to the Black Caps outfit along with the inclusion of Peter McGlashan who will take the gloves with Brendon McCullum being picked solely as an opening batsman.

John Bracewell had the following to say on the squad selected:

“It is essential, if we wish to perform well there, that we provide reconditioning windows for some of our key players, continue to build depth in all areas and provide contingencies in case of injury.”

“This Twenty20 series provides a re-conditioning opportunity for Daniel Vettori and then Shane Bond, and others will be provided with that opportunity during the one-day series.”

“The selectors have taken this opportunity to see Brendon McCullum open the batting and we couple this chance with providing Peter McGlashan his first game, and he will take the gloves.”

“We hope to give Gareth Hopkins an opportunity later in the series as well, but he is injured on this occasion.”

Jacob Oram, Kyle Mills, Scott Styris and Gareth Hopkins were not considered due to injury.

The first match is being played at Westpac Stadium in Wellington on 22nd December with the second match being played at Eden Park in Auckland on 26th December.

New Zealand Twenty20 Squad
Stephen Fleming (captain), Andre Adams, Nathan Astle, Shane Bond, James Franklin, Peter Fulton, Mark Gillespie, James Marshall, Brendon McCullum, Peter McGlashan, Jeetan Patel, Ross Taylor.

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by James Nixon