Asif returns to Pakistan squad

Mohammad Asif has been chosen in Pakistan’s 17-man squad to tour South Africa, but Shoaib Akhtar has been left out.

Both won appeals to have their drugs bans overturned, and since then both have played in Pakistan’s domestic Twenty20 competition. Shoaib has been left out due to a lack of match fitness. Also left out is Shabbir Ahmed, who returned from a year long ban for an illegal action recently.

Mohammad Sami and Shahid Nazir earn places ahead of Akhtar, despite poor performances at the top level from both. There is also a recall for batsman Asim Kamal, and wicketkeeper Zulqarnain Haider is selected in the squad for the first time.

Pakistan squad: Inzamam-ul-Haq (c), Younis Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Imran Farhat, Yasir Hameed, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Yousuf, Faisal Iqbal, Asim Kamal, Kamran Akmal (wk), Zulqarnain Haider (wk), Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Mohammad Asif, Danish Kaneria, Shahid Nazir, Umar Gul, Mohammad Sami

Leave a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until they have been approved

More articles by Alex Crampton