Cricket Web Logo
Cricket Coach 2014 - Order Now
Cricket Web Logo
Australia Bangladesh Bermuda Canada England India Ireland Kenya Netherlands New Zealand Pakistan Scotland South Africa Sri Lanka West Indies Zimbabwe
Squads for Twenty20 WC confirmed
14 Aug 2007
By: James Nixon

The best cricketers in the world are gearing up for the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 with all 12 squads now having been confirmed.

The South African cities of Johannesburg, Durban and Cape Town will be the venues for this intensive two-week event and a host of top players from all over the globe are chomping at the bit to get stuck in.

The likes of Adam Gilchrist, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Jacob Oram, Shahid Afridi, Muttiah Muralidaran, AB de Villiers, Chris Gayle, Tamim Iqbal, Kevin Pietersen and Tatenda Taibu will all be there from each of the ten Full Members while players of the calibre of Steve Tikolo and Ryan Watson will be among those representing the world of Associate cricket.

As well as the top ten teams, which qualified automatically, Kenya and Scotland got to this stage having made it to the final of the ICC World Cricket League Division 1, held in Nairobi in February.

The ICC World Twenty20 will take place from 11 to 24 September and will involve 12 teams, 27 matches, three venues and countless thrills.

Tournament director Steve Elworthy welcomed the squad announcements.

"Looking down through the squad lists it is very exciting to see the quality of talent that will be on show during the event," he said.

"Every single team has potential match-winners within its ranks and I have no doubt that we are going to see some amazing performances during the two weeks of the tournament.

"Players love performing in front of big crowds and so it is very encouraging for us to see how fast the tickets are selling. The Twenty20 format has been very successful on a domestic level in South Africa in recent seasons so it is no real surprise that people will want to go to watch the world?s top players in action.

"The countdown to the ICC World Twenty20 is very much on now and I get the sense that there is a real momentum building now and it has already caught the public's imagination here in South Africa,? he said.

The full squad lists for all 12 participating teams are:

Ricky Ponting (captain), Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Adam Gilchrist, Brad Haddin, Matthew Hayden, Brad Hodge, Bradley Hogg, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Andrew Symonds, Shaun Tait, Shane Watson.

Mohammad Ashraful (captain), Aftab Ahmed, Nadif Chowdhury, Shakib Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Alok Kopali, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mushfiqur Rahim, Ziaur Rahman, Syed Rasel, Abdur Razzak, Farhad Reza, Zunaed Siddique, Nazim Uddin, Mahmud Ullah.

Paul Collingwood (captain), Ravi Bopara, Stuart Broad, Andrew Flintoff, James Kirtley, Darren Maddy, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior, Chris Schofield, Owais Shah, Ryan Sidebottom, Jeremy Snape, Vikram Solanki, Chris Tremlett, Luke Wright.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Ajit Agarkar, Piyush Chawla, Gautam Gambhir, Dinesh Karthik, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Virender Sehwag, Joginder Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Rohit Sharma, RP Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, Robin Uthappa.

Steve Tikolo (captain), Rajesh Bhudiya, Jimmy Kamande, Tanmay Mishra, Lameck Ngoche, Nehemiah Ngoche, Alex Obanda, Collins Obuya, David Obuya, Thomas Odoyo, Peter Ongondo, Elijah Otieno, Morris Ouma, Ondik Suji, Hiren Varaiya.

New Zealand:
Daniel Vettori (captain), Shane Bond, Peter Fulton, Mark Gillespie, Gareth Hopkins, Chris Martin, Craig McMillan, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Jacob Oram, Jeetan Patel, Bradley Scott, Scott Styris, Ross Taylor, Lou Vincent.

Shoaib Malik (captain), Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Akhtar, Kamran Akmal, Fawad Alam, Yasir Arafat, Mohammad Asif, Salman Butt, Umar Gul, Mohammad Hafeez, Misbah-ul-Haq, Rao Iftikhar, Younis Khan, Imran Nazir, Abdul Rehman.

Ryan Watson (captain), Fraser Watts, Dougie Brown, John Blain, Gavin Hamilton, Navdeep Poonia, Gregor Maiden, Neil McCallum, Qasim Sheikh, Colin Smith, Craig Wright, Dewald Nel, Gordon Drummond, Ross Lyons, Majid Haq.

South Africa:
Graeme Smith (captain), Gulam Bodi, Loots Bosman, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Justin Kemp, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Makhaya Ntini, Vernon Philander, Shaun Pollock, Thandi Tshabalala, Johan van der Wath.

Sri Lanka:
Mahela Jayawardena (captain), Dilhara Fernando, Hasantha Fernando, Kaushal Lokuarachchi, Sanath Jayasuriya, Farveez Maharoof, Lasith Malinga, Jehan Mubarak, Muttiah Muralidaran, Kumara Sangakkara, Chamara Silva, Upul Tharanga, Dilshan Tilakarathne, Chaminda Vaas, Gayan Wijekoon.

West Indies:
Ramnaresh Sarwan (captain), Dwayne Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Pedro Collins, Narsingh Deonarine, Fidel Edwards, Chris Gayle, Runako Morton, Daren Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Devon Smith, Dwayne Smith.

Prosper Utseya (captain), Gary Brent, Chamunorwa Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Keith Dabengwa, Tymsen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Stuart Matsikinyeri, Johnson Marumisa, Christopher Mpofu, Tawanda Mupariwa, Vusimusi Sibanda, Tatenda Taibu, Brendon Taylor, Shaun Williams.

ICC Media Release

Discuss this news item in the Cricket Web Forums
Recent Cricket Chat Threads
All Formats Draft
Last posted by: ohnoitsyou
Scathing article by Vaughan on Trott
Last posted by: uvelocity
***Official*** English Domestic Season 2014
Last posted by: Scaly piscine
Lord Ted
Last posted by: fredfertang
Indian Premier League 2014
Last posted by: Jono
What is your ALL TIME WORLD XI TEAM for tests?
Last posted by: Lillian Thomson
Lokomotiv's Proposed Changes to Cricket
Last posted by: Lokomotiv
New Zealand Off Season 2014
Last posted by: Kippax
Don Bradman 14
Last posted by: ohnoitsyou
Successful quick weight loss tips
Last posted by: kapoorchota
Do you think enough Test cricket is being played?
Too much Test cricket
 [tally] 78%
The right amount is being played
 [tally] 7%
No there should be more
 [tally] 15%

Previous Polls