Cricket Web Logo
Cricket Coach 2014 - Order Now
Cricket Web Logo
Australia Bangladesh Bermuda Canada England India Ireland Kenya Netherlands New Zealand Pakistan Scotland South Africa Sri Lanka West Indies Zimbabwe
Champions Trophy Format Changed
30 Jun 2005
By: James Nixon

The ICC have announced that the format of the next Champions League Trophy competition is to change to ensure fewer one-sided matches.

The 2006 ICC Champions Trophy to be held in India will include eight teams rather than the 12 teams who took part last year in England.

This will include the top six rated ODI teams and two nations that qualify from a round-robins series contested between the teams rated 7th to 10th.

Malcolm Speed, CEO of the ICC was quoted as follows "The Board is of the view that the new format has addressed the main flaws of the previous 12-team system and we now look forward to an exciting major international event in India."

Recent Cricket Chat Threads
Florence and from the players
Last posted by: bagapath
Ajmal Action Reported.
Last posted by: Agent Nationaux
Stats draft-2014
Last posted by: ankitj
New Zealand Off Season 2014
Last posted by: hendrix
Champions League T20 2014
Last posted by: Kippax
Poll: Stats draft 2014
Last posted by: smalishah84
Martin Crowe has cancer relapse
Last posted by: smalishah84
Do you think enough Test cricket is being played?
Too much Test cricket
The right amount is being played
No there should be more

View Results
Previous Polls