Cricket Web Logo
Cricket Coach 2014 - Order Now
Cricket Web Logo
Australia Bangladesh Bermuda Canada England India Ireland Kenya Netherlands New Zealand Pakistan Scotland South Africa Sri Lanka West Indies Zimbabwe
ICC CT Groups announced
02 Apr 2006
By: Alex Crampton

The groups for the ICC Champions Trophy have been announced by Ehsan Mani in a conference in Goa.

Based on the current ODI rankings, Group A pits England, India and Australia against each other, while Group B consists of Pakistan, South Africa and New Zealand. The fourth spot in each group will be taken by one of the qualifiers from the qualifying group, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe and Bangladesh.

Some issues surrounding the event still remain, mainly concerning the BCCI's request to have four grounds hosting matches, as opposed to three. However, the ICC expect these to be resolved soon.

The qualifying matches start on October 7, and the tournament finishes on November 5. With an already crowded international calendar, many coaches are worried about 'burnout' of players, and there are worries that we may not see full strength squads. However, Mani stated he would be disappointed if that were to happen, and that he expects full strength line-ups.

Group A

Qualifier 1

Group B

South Africa
New Zealand
Qualifier 2


Sri Lanka
West Indies

Recent Cricket Chat Threads
The landscape is changing in World Cricket
Last posted by: Arachnodouche
Sir Garry v Sachin
Last posted by: fredfertang
Favourite cricket pictures
Last posted by: Howe_zat
Big Bash League 2014/15
Last posted by: Antihippy
England thread
Last posted by: theegyptian
World Cup 2015 - Draft
Last posted by: Red Hill
Do you think enough Test cricket is being played?
Too much Test cricket
The right amount is being played
No there should be more

View Results
Previous Polls