Cricket Web Logo
Cricket Coach 2014 - Order Now
Cricket Web Logo
Australia Bangladesh Bermuda Canada England India Ireland Kenya Netherlands New Zealand Pakistan Scotland South Africa Sri Lanka West Indies Zimbabwe
Kenya qualify for Twenty20 WC
17 Feb 2007
By: Alex Crampton

Kenya and Scotland have both qualified for September's Twenty20 World Championship in South Africa.

The pair qualified for the finals by reaching the finals by reaching the final of the ICC World Cricket League, which Kenya won by 8 wickets.

September's tournament will be contested by 12 teams, split into four groups of three. Each team will play the other two in the group, with the top two advancing into the Super Eight stage, and the top four from that will progress into the semi-finals.

It will be played in South Africa, in the cities of Cape Town Johannesburg and Durban. It will run for about two weeks and will probably start around the 10th of September.

Steve Elworthy, the tournament director, congratulated them on their qualification: "We welcome the inclusion of Kenya and Scotland in the inaugural tournament, which now completes the make up of the teams. This will be a wonderful opportunity to showcase South African cricket and South Africa to millions of television viewers around the world. Further excitement is added to the tournament with Africa having three representatives and Europe two and we trust that the spirit of the game will be reflected throughout the Championship."

Recent Cricket Chat Threads
Do you think enough Test cricket is being played?
Too much Test cricket
The right amount is being played
No there should be more

View Results
Previous Polls