Cricket Web Logo
Cricket Coach 2014 - Order Now
Cricket Web Logo
Australia Bangladesh Bermuda Canada England India Ireland Kenya Netherlands New Zealand Pakistan Scotland South Africa Sri Lanka West Indies Zimbabwe
Champions Trophy Format Changed
30 Jun 2005
By: James Nixon

The ICC have announced that the format of the next Champions League Trophy competition is to change to ensure fewer one-sided matches.

The 2006 ICC Champions Trophy to be held in India will include eight teams rather than the 12 teams who took part last year in England.

This will include the top six rated ODI teams and two nations that qualify from a round-robins series contested between the teams rated 7th to 10th.

Malcolm Speed, CEO of the ICC was quoted as follows "The Board is of the view that the new format has addressed the main flaws of the previous 12-team system and we now look forward to an exciting major international event in India."

Recent Cricket Chat Threads
***Official*** English Domestic Season 2014
Last posted by: superkingdave
How good is Sanga?
Last posted by: Dan
New Zealand 'A' Tour of U.K., 2014
Last posted by: NZTailender
Kallis retires from Tests
Last posted by: bagapath
Pankaj Singh
Last posted by: OverratedSanity
*Official* Pakistan in Sri Lanka 2014
Last posted by: YorksLanka
Pioneers of Cricket Series
Last posted by: bagapath
New Zealand Off Season 2014
Last posted by: Kippax
Do you think enough Test cricket is being played?
Too much Test cricket
The right amount is being played
No there should be more

View Results
Previous Polls